Jun 29, 2022  
2019-2020 General Catalog 
2019-2020 General Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

School of the Environment

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Schools and Colleges

Background & Organization

The School of the Environment (SOE), evolved from the Environmental Sciences Institute, was founded on July 1, 2011. The Environmental Sciences Institute (ESI) was established in 1995, and was given degree granting status by the Florida Board of Regents in February of 1996. The Institute's alignment within the Division of Academic Affairs as an autonomous unit allowed the Institute to facilitate environmental science related instruction and collaborative research with faculty from the University's other schools, colleges, and institutes. This organizational structure also enabled the Institute to be the focal point for external organizations seeking assistance and advice on environmental issues as well as those with intentions to support environmental science related teaching and research. The objectives of the School of the Environment are to provide instruction, conduct research, perform public service, and initiate technology transfer which will result in the development of remedies for existing environmental problems; enlighten communities on environmental issues; and the production of students who are uniquely prepared to address present and future environmental concerns.

The School of the Environment is an instructional and research unit within the Division of Academic Affairs. SOE functions under a dean who coordinates and manages the activities of faculty and staff who are engaged in instruction, research, outreach, and environmental technology transfer. The School of the Environment houses the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Environmental Cooperative Science Center, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Center for Coastal and Marine Ecosystems and the Florida A&M University Center for Environmental Equity and Justice.

In 1998, the Legislature provided funding for the establishment of the Center for Environmental Equity and Justice (CEEJ) within the Environmental Sciences Institute. The purpose of the Center is to conduct and facilitate research, develop policies, engage in education, training, and community outreach activities with respect to environmental equity and justice issues.

The Florida A&M University Environmental Cooperative Science Center (ECSC) was established in 2001 by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Educational Partnership Program (EPP). ECSC is led by FAMU and is a collaboration between Creighton University, Delaware State University, Jackson State University, Texas A&M University Corpus Christi, and  the University of Texas-Brownsville. ECSC research seeks to enhance the scientific understanding of human interactions with the coastal environment through integrated assessment in support of environmental decision making; integrated social sciences; ecological processes and ecosystem health; and geospatial analysis.

The Center for Coastal and Marine Ecosystems (CCME) was established in 2016 as part of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric administration (NOAA) Education Partnership Program (EPP/MSI) to address issues confronting marine and coastal communities.  The NOAA-CCME mission is to educate and train a new generation of scientists, particularly from under-represented minority communities in NOAA-relevant STEM disciplines and social sciences, and equipped to utilize interdisciplinary approaches.

NOAA-CCME is led by FAMU and partnering institutions are Bethune-Cookman University, California State University-Monterey Bay , Jackson State University, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, and University of Texas-Rio Grande Valley.


External grants and contractual activities enable the School of the Environment to offer competitive scholarships and fellowships that recognize and reward academic achievement, and meritorious performance. SOE students are exposed to an array of research, internship and other professional development experiences.

Programs and Degrees

Environmental Science: The School of the Environment offers programs in environmental science at the bachelor's, the master's and the doctoral degree levels. The B.S. degree program is a 120 credit-hour program, the Master's program is a 36 credit-hour program including six thesis hours; and the Ph.D. degree program is an 80 credit-hour program including 24 dissertation hours.

Environmental Studies: The School of the Environment also offers the BS/BA Degree in Environmental Studies. The BS/BA degree program is a 120 credit hour program. Environmental Studies is interdisciplinary and is aimed at students with environmental interests who wish to pursue careers in a variety of disciplines for which the environment is a critical component. The BA in Environmental Studies Degree Program is intended for those students who plan to graduate in the area of environmental policy or in a non-scientific field or wish to pursue careers in other professional studies such as Environmental Law or Environmental Journalism.

MINORS: The 20 credit hour minor in environmental science or the 19 credit hour minor in environmental studies prepares students from diverse academic areas to complement their disciplinary major with the knowledge and skills necessary to meet present and future environmental science, policy, educational and management needs.


The School of the Environment occupies approximately 7,000 sq. ft. of space in the Frederick S. Humphries Science Research Center. Located in the research wing is a core lab that is   created to enhance collaborative research and increased access to major instrumentation to students and faculty. Instruments available to both faculty and students in this facility include GC/MS, HPLC, AA, a graphite furnace emission spectrometer, UV-Visible Spectrophotometer, Advanced Imaging System, a Solar Simulator, Capillary Electrophoresis, Total Organic Carbon Analyzer, Flow Cytometer, a Beckman 6500 Scintillation counter, a High-resolution Gamma-ray Spectrometer, MicSequencer, and an Inductively Coupled Plasma. The School of the Environment also owns a four-wheel drive vehicle and a boat to aid in field studies. In addition, the School of the Environment houses a Student Resource Room, which includes computers with internet access. Most recently an ICP Mass Specphotometer and a Dionex Ion Chromatography System (ICS) were added to the inventory. Access to the internet from individual offices and laboratories is also possible through high-speed fiber optic connections. In addition solar umbrellas with charging stations are located on the north end of the Science Research Center.

Foreign Language Requirements: Student who have not completed two years of the same foreign language or American Sign Language in high school must complete eight semester hours in the same foreign language prior to graduation.


Dean: Ibeanusi, Victor

Distinguished Professor and FAMU President: Robinson, Larry

Professors: Abazinge, Michael; Williams, Henry N. ; Gragg, III, Richard D.

Associate Professors: Chauhan, Ashvini; Essien, Frederic; Johnson, Elijah; Owens, Marcia

Assistant Professor: Martinez-Colon, Michael

Distinguished Scientist: Morey, Steven

Adjunct Professors: Thomas, Michael



    Bachelor's DegreeMaster's DegreeDoctorate DegreeMinor


      Environmental Studies

      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Schools and Colleges